DOORS TO THE PAST

Car Doors and their handles are designed as art. Featured here are a few I find fascinating.

Model A 1928

Model A 1928

Car doors fascinate me.  I like their lines, the angles and frequently, the implied invitation.

1948 (?) Ford Truck

1948 (?) Ford Truck

While they make a fine subject for my camera, I am not oblivious to the fanatical attention decent doors require.  Their wear and tear make them the focal point of a lot of effort.  My interest extends well past perfect doors.

Burned 32 buick

Burned 32 buick

The story goes that Tom Carr, auto restoration pro, was offered the chance to purchase an original condition 1932 Buick that had been stored in a garage for decades.  It wasn’t in prime condition, but it was very restorable; until the fire.  A week after the offer was made, the garage caught fire and decimated the car.  Tom wound up taking it off the desolate owner’s hands and the car sits in Carr’s restoration lot awaiting an interested party.  You can see the burned out shell here.

And sometimes, the doors strike me as a work of art.

1948 (?) Ford Truck

1948 (?) Ford Truck

Other times, I am fascinated by the implied history as with these mystery doors from a shell of a car I visit from time to time in Klamath Falls, Oregon.

Mystery car

Mystery car

While I have many more examples of fascinating car doors, I’d love to see your favorites as well.  Contact me arrange for download.

2 thoughts on “DOORS TO THE PAST

  1. Pingback: DOORS TO THE PAST | Top Elegant Cars

Leave a Reply

